top of page

Émile Brunet

The Unicorn Hunters

​​

08.06.24 - 07.07.24 

____

 

 Opening 

08.06.24

Brunet_01_01_Chasseur de Licornes No.9 - Adriana copie_web.JPG

Emile Brunet, chasseur de Licornes #9 / Adriana, oil on wood panel, 16"x20", 2023

Artwork

Emile Brunet

The Unicorn Hunters

08.06.24 - 06.02.24

Émile Brunet's paintings are often associated with those of Bosch or Bruegel. Certainly, his world is reminiscent of these great Flemish artists, but the obvious anachronism of his world opens up their interpretation to a poetic and political dimension. Is the object of their quest imaginary or metaphorical? Is it a way of celebrating a return to the old ways of subsistence and lifestyles, the kind, for example, sought by young market gardeners leaving the big city to cultivate their gardens? These characters' attributes, apparel and equanimous pride suggest a secret society united in the peace provided by a mysteriously familiar lifestyle.

 

As you may also have noticed, many of the paintings in the series contain portraits of real people. Indeed, the paintings Émile exhibited at Galerie Cache for Domestique (2023) provoked a great deal of interest, with many visitors expressing a desire to see themselves or their loved ones included in the world of these whimsical hunters. The challenge was taken up by the artist, and the results are surprising both in terms of the quality of the rendering and the ease with which he integrated these people into this marvellous habitat. 

 

Come to think of it, our desire to enter the fabulous world of the Unicorn Hunters, to be part of it, is in accord with the paradoxical nature of nostalgia, which, in short, is regret for a time that never existed. The impossible and probable world has always been the domain of painting: Émile has found a very pleasant way of reminding us of this!

Since 2021

bottom of page

top of page

Émile Brunet

Le chasseurs

de Licorne

​​

08.06.24 - 07.07.24 

____

 

Vernissage - Opening 

08.06.24

Brunet_01_01_Chasseur de Licornes No.9 - Adriana copie_web.JPG

Emile Brunet, chasseur de Licornes #9 / Adriana, huile sur panneau oil on wood panel, 16"x20", 2023

Œuvres

Emile Brunet

Les chasseurs de licorne

08.06.24 - 06.02.24

On associe volontiers les peintures d’Émile Brunet à celles de Bosch ou de Bruegel. Certes  son univers nous renvoie à celui de ces grands fleurons de l’art flamand, mais l’anachronisme manifeste de son choix ouvre leur interprétation vers une dimension poétique et politique. L’objet de leur quête est-il imaginaire ou métaphorique? Ce choix est censé célébrer un retour aux modes anciens de subsistance et de vie, celle, par exemple, que recherchent des jeunes maraîchers qui quittent la grande ville pour aller cultiver des terres en région. Les attributs, habillement, et la fierté équanime de ces personnages suggèrent une société secrète unie dans la paix que leur procure un style de vie mystérieusement familier.

 

Vous l’aurez sans doute aussi remarqué, plusieurs des tableaux de la série contiennent des portraits de personnes réelles. En effet, les peintures qu’Émile avait exposées à Galerie Cache pour Domestique (2023) avaient provoqué beaucoup d’engouement, et plusieurs visiteurs avaient alors manifesté le désir de se voir eux-mêmes ou leurs proches inclure dans l’univers de ces chasseurs fantasques. Le défi fut relevé par l’artiste, et les résultats surprenant autant par la qualité du rendu que par l’aisance avec laquelle il intègre ces personnes,  à cet habitat merveilleux. 

 

À bien y penser, notre désir d’entrer dans le monde fabuleux des Chasseurs de licorne, d’en faire partie, participe du caractère paradoxal de la nostalgie, qui, en somme, est le regret un temps qui, en tant que tel, n’a jamais existé. Le monde impossible et probable a toujours été le domaine de la peinture: Émile a trouvé une bien plaisante manière de nous le rappeller!

Since 2021

bottom of page